Limosa

Are you an employer sending an employee to work in Belgium? Are you a self-employed person travelling to Belgium for work in Belgium?

In either case, you are required to fill in the mandatory declaration known as the Limosa declaration. Any individual not subject to Belgian social security who comes to work in Belgium on a temporary and/or part-time basis must be able to present proof of the Limosa-1 declaration. Failure to make this declaration exposes you to criminal or administrative sanctions.

The Belgian State wishes to create a more attractive environment for the processing of posted workers in Belgium. Particular attention is given to their rights and working conditions. In this regard, the obligation to file a Limosa declaration has been in force since 1 April 2007.

Filling in a Limosa declaration simplifies your administrative obligations in Belgium, including for:

  • drawing up and keeping up to date the terms of employment and documents for part-time workers,
  • the staff register,
  • the employee record, and
  • the payslip.

The Limosa declaration is the first step towards legal work in Belgium in accordance with European rules. It is a legal obligation. Non-compliance with this obligation may give rise to criminal or administrative sanctions (in French).

The following persons and organisations may be sanctioned:

  • the employer or their servants or agents, and
  • the independent posted worker.

All those who have work carried out on their premises, or for whom work is carried out in Belgium, may also be pursued if they do not report to the authorities the fact that no proof of a Limosa declaration has been presented.

Report the failure to present proof of a Limosa declaration.

Workers

Limosa concerns employees (in French) sent to work on a temporary or part-time basis in Belgium. In other words, workers who:

  • habitually work in a country other than Belgium;
  • have been hired in a country other than Belgium.

Independent workers

A declaration is required for any self-employed person temporarily working in that capacity in Belgium, without residing there on a permanent basis.

There are exemptions to this general rule. They depend on the reasons for coming to Belgium and the duration of the stay.

The following activities are exempted from the obligation to declare:

  • international transport: workers and self-employed people in the international transport sector for passengers and goods are exempt, with the exception of inland transport in Belgium.
  • academic conferences: workers and self-employed people attending academic conferences in Belgium are exempt.
  • small-group meetings: workers and self-employed people attending meetings with a closed attendee list (strategic negotiations, contract negotiations with clients, performance reviews, etc.) are exempt. In order to be covered by this exemption, they may not be present at such meetings for more than 60 days per year in Belgium. Each meeting should not continue for more than 20 successive calendar days.
  • installation and assembly: workers and self-employed people sent to Belgium for the initial assembly and/or installation of goods are exempt. This applies only to qualified and/or specialised workers in the business supplying the goods, or the self-employed supplier. The work may not exceed 8 days. This exemption does not apply to the construction sector.
  • urgent repair and maintenance work: specialised technicians from foreign companies and self-employed people are exempt if they come to Belgium to carry out urgent maintenance or repair work on machines or equipment. Machines or equipment must have been delivered by their employer or by the self-employed people themselves to the business where the repair/maintenance took place. Such technicians may not stay on Belgian soil for more than 5 days per month.
  • self-employed business people: self-employed business people are exempt if they stay on Belgian soil for business purposes for not more than 5 days per month. Independent business managers and agents are also exempt from the declaration requirement if they are participating in company staff committees and company general meetings in Belgium. They cannot stay in Belgium more than 5 days per month for business purposes either.
  • Athletes: workers in foreign companies are exempt from the requirement to declare if travelling to Belgium for an international sports competition. They may only stay in Belgium for the duration of the competition, and a maximum of three months per calendar year.
    This exemption also applies to: Cette exemption s'applique également aux :
    • referees;
    • support staff ;
    • official representatives, members of staff and any other person recognised by the international or national sporting federations.
    Self-employed athletes and their self-employed support staff who do not have their main place of residence in Belgium are exempt if they provide professional services in Belgium and to that end, stay on Belgian soil for 3 months maximum per calendar year.
  • artists: artists with an international reputation are exempt on the condition that their stay on Belgian soil for such purposes does not exceed 21 days per quarter.
    This exemption also applies to the support staff needed for the performance and who come to Belgium as workers.
    The same applies for independent artists and their self-employed support staff who do not have their main place of residence in Belgium.
  • scientists: they are exempt if they participate in a scientific programme at a host university or scientific institute on Belgian territory. They may not stay for more than 3 months per calendar year.
  • public administration staff
  • staff at international institutions: insofar as the institution's status is governed by an international treaty that has been ratified.
  • diplomats

You need to create a user account in order to accessing the secure Limosa online service.

You must make a Limosa declaration each time a worker is sent to Belgium. To that end, make sure you have the VAT number for the country where the employer or self-employed worker is established.

Which details do you need to declare?

Before you declare, you need to have certain details to hand.

Basic details

For employees and self-employed people

  • The place in Belgium where the work is performed (up to 5 places of employment in one notification)
  • The identification details of the Belgian customer (up to 10 Belgian customers in one notification)
  • The anticipated start and end date: maximum 24 months per notification
  • The identification details of the employee (up to 10 employees in one notification)
  • The work schedule

Additional details for an employee

The following additional details are requested for an employee:

  • The identification details of the employer
  • The identification and contact details of the liaison officer (surname, first names, date of birth, physical and electronic addresses, telephone number and the capacity in which this liaison officer acts).
    This is a person responsible for liaison with the Belgian authorities who may, if necessary, forward documents and receive notifications. If a Limosa notification has already been made for this employer, the system will apply the details of the last indicated liaison officer. You can accept or modify this person. You can find more information on the page Liaison officer (in French).
  • In cases of temporary agency work, the accreditation number of the foreign temporary employment agency.
    The legal employer must be indicated. This is therefore the temporary employment agency that has concluded an employment contract for agency work with the temporary agency worker.
  • In order to be able to post staff in Belgium, a foreign temporary employment agency must have accreditation from the Belgian region (Brussels, Flanders, Wallonia) in which the work is performed.
  • The nature of the services (list with sectors: construction – meat processing – agricultural sector – cleaning – security – ICT – financial institutions and insurance – production and distribution of electricity, gas and water – health care and social services – accommodation and catering – private households – metalwork – electrical installation and assembly works – petrochemical industry – transport and distribution – wood and furniture industry – trade in other consumer goods – other).
  • For activities in the construction sector (Joint Committee no. 124) it is requested whether the employer pays a premium which is comparable to the applicable 'fidelity stamps' in Belgium.
    A similar scheme to the fidelity stamps means that, pursuant to the schemes in force in his country, the employer is obliged to pay a premium (end of year bonus, Christmas bonus or 13th month) on top of the normal wage. Generally, this is a premium which is allocated annually and for which the amount corresponds more or less with a monthly salary. It does not include allowances relating to the employee's annual leave and secondment allowances.

The proof of the declaration should be presented before the work in Belgium begins.

If the work continues for longer than the period initially declared, a new declaration must be made.

When you finalise the declaration, the final screen immediately displays a receipt: proof of the Limosa-1 declaration. You need to present this proof of the declaration to your Belgian client before beginning work. If you are not in a position to present it, your client is under the obligation to notify the Belgian authorities.

The proof of the Limosa-1 declaration includes a QR Code which allows you to easily register individuals carrying out construction work in Checkinatwork. Since 14 April 2015, the QR Code also contains the most important data from the Limosa declaration.

More information on the QR Code (in French)

As an employer, when you make the mandatory Limosa declaration, you enjoy a number of advantages:

  • You do not have to prepare certain Belgian employment documents for the relevant mission:
    • terms of employment;
    • staff register;
    • rules applicable to checks on part-time workers.
  • You no longer have to draw up the individual employee account or payslip (per payment period), as long as you can present the equivalent employment documents drawn up in accordance with the legislation in force in the country of origin. A double administrative burden is thus avoided in relation to employees.
  • By making the Limosa declaration, you improve your position on the Belgian market. Clients and principals will have a higher regard for you as a reliable partner.

More information on the advantages of the Limosa declaration

Limosa

Vous êtes un employeur et vous chargez un employé d’une mission en Belgique ? Vous êtes un indépendant et vous vous rendez en Belgique pour une mission en Belgique ?

Dans ces deux cas, vous devez remplir une déclaration obligatoire, dite Limosa. En effet, toute personne non assujettie à la sécurité sociale belge qui vient travailler temporairement et/ou partiellement en Belgique doit pouvoir présenter une preuve de déclaration Limosa-1. Sans celle-ci, vous êtes passible de sanctions pénales ou administratives.

L’Etat belge souhaite créer un cadre plus attractif pour l’occupation correcte de travailleurs détachés en Belgique. Une attention particulière est portée à leurs droits et aux conditions de travail. Dans ce cadre, l’obligation Limosa est en vigueur depuis le 1er avril 2007.

Remplir une déclaration Limosa simplifie vos obligations administratives en Belgique, entre autres en ce qui concerne :

  • l’établissement et la tenue à jour du règlement de travail et de documents pour les travailleurs à temps partiel
  • le registre du personnel
  • le compte individuel
  • le décompte salarial

La déclaration Limosa constitue le premier pas vers une occupation légale en Belgique dans le respect des règles européennes. Il s’agit d’une obligation légale. Le non-respect de cette obligation peut donner lieu à des sanctions pénales ou administratives.

Les personnes et organisations suivantes peuvent être sanctionnées :

  • l'employeur ou son préposé ou mandataire
  • le travailleur indépendant détaché

Tous ceux chez lesquels ou pour lesquels les activités sont exécutées en Belgique peuvent également être poursuivis, s'ils ne signalent pas la non-présentation d'une preuve de déclaration Limosa aux autorités.

Signaler une non-présentation d’une preuve de déclaration Limosa

Travailleurs

La Limosa s’adresse aux travailleurs salariés qui sont envoyés pour travailler temporairement ou partiellement en Belgique. Autrement dit, il s'agit de travailleurs qui :

  • travaillent habituellement dans un autre pays que la Belgique ;
  • sont embauchés dans un autre pays que la Belgique.

Indépendants

Une déclaration est exigée pour tout indépendant qui vient exercer temporairement une activité d'indépendant en Belgique, sans y résider de façon permanente.

Il existe des exemptions à cette obligation générale. Elles dépendent des motifs de la venue en Belgique et de la durée du séjour.

Les activités suivantes sont exemptées de l’obligation de déclaration :

  • transport international : les travailleurs et indépendants du secteur du transport international de personnes et de marchandises sont exemptés, excepté en cas d'activités de cabotage en Belgique.
  • congrès scientifique : les travailleurs et indépendants qui assistent à des congrès scientifiques en Belgique sont exemptés.
  • réunions en cercle restreint : les travailleurs et indépendants qui assistent à des réunions en cercle restreint (pourparlers en matière de stratégie, négociations de contrats avec un client, entretiens d’évaluation…) sont dispensés. Pour bénéficier de cette exemption, ils ne peuvent être présents à ce type de réunions plus de 60 jours par an en Belgique. Chaque réunion ne peut s’étendre sur plus de 20 jours civils successifs.
  • installation et assemblage de biens : les travailleurs et indépendants envoyés en Belgique pour l'assemblage initial et/ou la première installation d'un bien sont exemptés. Il doit s'agir de travailleurs qualifiés et/ou spécialisés de l'entreprise qui fournit le bien en question ou de l'indépendant qui le fournit. La durée des travaux visés ne peut dépasser 8 jours. Cette exemption ne s'applique pas aux activités du secteur de la construction.
  • travaux urgents de réparation et d'entretien : les techniciens spécialisés d'entreprises étrangères et les indépendants sont exemptés s'ils viennent en Belgique pour exécuter des travaux urgents d'entretien ou des travaux urgents de réparation sur des machines ou équipements. Les machines ou équipements doivent avoir été livrés par leur employeur ou par les indépendants eux-mêmes à l'entreprise où la réparation/l'entretien a lieu. Ces techniciens ne peuvent rester plus de 5 jours par mois sur le territoire belge.
  • hommes d'affaires indépendants : les hommes d'affaires indépendants sont exemptés s'ils ne séjournent pas plus de 5 jours par mois sur le territoire belge pour leurs activités. Les gestionnaires et mandataires d'entreprise indépendants sont également exempts de déclaration s'ils participent à des comités d'entreprise et à des assemblées générales d'entreprise en Belgique. Ils ne peuvent, eux non plus, séjourner plus de 5 jours par mois en Belgique pour ces activités.
  • sportifs : les travailleurs d'entreprises étrangères sont exempts de déclaration s'ils viennent en Belgique pour participer à des compétitions sportives internationales. Ils ne peuvent séjourner en Belgique que pour la durée de la compétition, jusqu'à 3 mois maximum par année calendrier.

  • Cette exemption s'applique également aux :
    • arbitres ;
    • accompagnateurs ;
    • représentants officiels, membres du personnel et toute autre personne reconnue par les fédérations sportives internationales ou nationales.
    Les sportifs indépendants et leurs accompagnateurs indépendants qui n'ont pas leur résidence principale en Belgique sont exemptés s'ils exercent des prestations professionnelles en Belgique et, à cette fin, séjournent sur le territoire belge pendant 3 mois maximum par année calendrier.
  • artistes : les artistes de renommée internationale sont exemptés à condition que leur séjour sur le territoire belge pour ces activités n'excède pas 21 jours par trimestre. Cette exemption s'applique également aux accompagnateurs dont ils ont besoin pour le déroulement du spectacle et qui viennent en Belgique en tant que travailleurs. Il en est de même pour les artistes indépendants et leurs accompagnateurs indépendants qui n'ont pas leur résidence principale en Belgique.
  • scientifiques : ils sont exemptés s’ils participent sur le territoire belge à un programme scientifique dans une université d’accueil ou une institution scientifique. Leur séjour ne peut pas dépasser 3 mois par année calendrier.
  • personnel d’administrations publiques
  • personnel d’institutions internationales : pour autant que le statut de cette institution soit réglementé par un traité ratifié.
  • diplomates

Vous devez d’abord créer un compte utilisateur avant de pouvoir accéder au service en ligne sécurisé Limosa.

Pour chaque mission, vous devez effectuer une déclaration Limosa. Pour ce faire, munissez-vous du numéro de TVA du pays d’établissement de l’employeur ou de l’indépendant.

Quelles données déclarer ?

Avant de remplir une déclaration, vous devez être en possession de certaines données.

Travailleur ou un indépendant

Données générales

Pour un travailleur ou un indépendant,  les données suivantes doivent être introduites :
  • le lieu où les prestations sont effectuées en Belgique ( jusqu'à 5 lieux d'occupation dans une déclaration)
  • les données d'identification du client ou du donneur d'ordre belges (jusqu’à 10 clients belges dans une déclaration)
  • la période de détachement (maximum 24 mois par déclaration)
  • les données d'identification du travailleur ou de l'indépendant (jusqu’à 10 travailleurs dans une déclaration)
  • l’horaire de travail

Données additionnelles pour un travailleur

Pour un travailleur, des données supplémentaires sont demandées :

  • les données d'identification de l'employeur
  • les coordonnées et les données d'identification de la personne de liaison (son nom, prénom, date de naissance, ses adresses physiques et électroniques, numéro de téléphone et la qualité dans laquelle agit cette personne de liaison). Cette personne est chargée d’assurer la liaison avec les autorités belges et peut, si nécessaire, transmettre des documents et recevoir des avis. Si une déclaration a déjà été faite pour cet employeur, le système reprend les données de la dernière personne de liaison. Vous pouvez les accepter ou les modifier. Plus d'informations sur la personne de liaison.
  • en cas de travail intérimaire, le numéro d'agrément de l’entreprise étrangère de travail intérimaire. L’employeur à déclarer est l’employeur légal. C’est donc bien le bureau de travail intérimaire qui a conclu un contrat de travail temporaire avec l’intérimaire détaché qui doit être déclaré.
  • Pour pouvoir détacher du personnel en Belgique, un bureau de travail intérimaire étranger doit disposer d’un agrément auprès de la Région (Bruxelles, Flandres, Wallonie) dans laquelle les prestations sont effectuées.
  • la nature des services (liste des secteurs : construction – transformation de la viande – secteur agricole – nettoyage – sécurité – ICT – institutions financières et assurances – production et distribution d’électricité, de gaz et d’eau – soins de santé et services sociaux – hôtels et horeca – personnel d’entretien – constructions métalliques – travaux d’installation électrique – pétrochimie – transport et distributions – industrie  du bois et de l’ameublement – commerce d’autres biens de consommation – autres)
  • Pour les activités dans le secteur de la construction (CP n°124) l'employeur doit communiquer s'il verse à ses travailleurs une prime comparable au système des "timbres fidélité" en Belgique.
    Un régime comparable aux timbres fidélité implique que l’employeur est tenu, en application des régimes en vigueur dans son pays, de payer en plus du salaire normal,  une prime (prime de fin d’année ou 13e mois).  En général, il s’agit d’une prime qui est octroyée chaque année et dont le montant correspond environ à un mois de salaire. Les indemnités relatives aux vacances annuelles des travailleurs et les indemnités de détachement ne sont pas visées.

La preuve de déclaration Limosa-1 doit être présentée avant le début des activités en Belgique.

Si la durée de la mission est supérieure à la durée initialement déclarée, une nouvelle déclaration doit être introduite.

Lorsque vous finalisez la déclaration, le dernier écran affiche immédiatement un accusé de réception : la preuve de déclaration Limosa-1. Vous devez présenter cette preuve de déclaration à votre client belge avant de commencer vos activités. Si vous n’êtes pas en mesure de la présenter, votre client est contraint d’avertir les autorités belges.

La preuve de déclaration Limosa-1 comporte un code QR qui vous permet d'enregistrer facilement dans Checkinatwork des personnes qui exécutent des travaux immobiliers. Depuis le 14 avril 2015, le code QR contient également les principales données de la déclaration Limosa.

Plus d'informations sur le code QR

En tant qu’employeur, lorsque vous vous acquittez de la déclaration obligatoire Limosa, vous avez plusieurs avantages :

  • Vous ne devez plus établir certains documents sociaux belges pour la mission en question :
    • règlement de travail ;
    • registre du personnel ;
    • règles en vigueur pour le contrôle des travailleurs à temps partiel.
  • Vous ne devez plus établir de compte ni de décompte salarial individuel (par période de paiement), à condition d’être en mesure de présenter des documents salariaux équivalents établis selon la législation en vigueur dans le pays d’origine. Une double administration des salaires est ainsi évitée.
  • En respectant la déclaration Limosa, vous améliorez votre position sur le marché belge. Les clients ou donneurs d’ordre ont une plus haute estime de votre fiabilité.

Plus d’informations sur les avantages de la Limosa